Department of Academic Enrichment


Bloomsburg University's Department of Academic Enrichment serves at the heart of the university and strives to prepare a diverse student population through a holistic, inclusive, and collaborative approach to academic support services, to overcome obstacles and achieve their educational goals while strengthening institutional retention and graduation. We aspire to support academic content and skill-building, decision-making, and social engagement. Students commit to act as agents of change in their academic, professional and personal lives as they successfully advance through their undergraduate experience and beyond.

Act 101/EOP

The Act 101/EOP provides access and support for students who have traditionally been under-represented in higher education. Approximately half of the students enrolled in this program are minority group members; sixty percent are women and 20 percent are older than the traditional college student.

University Tutorial Services

University Tutorial Services offers free peer tutoring in a variety of courses and is open to all undergraduate students enrolled at the University. The Department of Academic Enrichment maintains the following components in its mission to facilitate "... the cognitive and affective growth of all learners, at all levels of the learning continuum."

  • A centralized program
  • Mandatory assessment of students
  • Mandatory placement of students
  • Tutorial services
  • Tutor training
  • Advising and counseling services
  • Program evaluation

 

Academic Enrichment

Chairperson, Academic Enrichment
  Tara Diehl, Ph.D. | tdiehl@bloomu.edu
Director of Access and Success
  Chigozie Achebe, Ed.D. | cachebe@bloomu.edu
Director, University Tutorial Services
  Karen Hamman, D.Ed. | khamman@bloomu.edu
Assistant Professor and Non-Teaching Faculty Advisor
  Brian Johnson, Ph.D. | bjohnson@bloomu.edu
Temporary Non-Teaching Faculty Advisor
  James Vines, Ph.D. |  jvines@bloomu.edu
Assistant Director, Diversity and Retention, ACT 101 Academic Advisor
  Wayne Whitaker, M.S. |  wwhitake@bloomu.edu
Frederick Douglass Teaching Scholar, Coordinator of Frederick Douglass Institute and Learning Community
  Ralph Godbolt, A.B.D. |  rgodbolt@bloomu.edu
Department Secretary
  Lisa Clippinger | lclippin@bloomu.edu
Department Secretary
  Ailien Pham | apham@bloomu.edu


Department of Academic Enrichment
40 Student Services Center
570-389-4492

 

Enrichment Courses (Courses do not count toward graduation)  

Introductory Algebra 3 credits
Intermediate Algebra 3 credits

 

Courses that count for graduation  

ENRICH 110, Reading Your World, (satisfies Reading II prerequisite) 3 credits
College Reading and Study Skills   3 credits
ENRICH 101, College Writing Enrichment, (satisfies Writing II prerequisite) 3 credits
The Art of Possibility and Mindfulness Practice (Values & Ethics)   3 credits
ENRICH 103, The Art of Possibility and Mindfulness Practice 3 credits